Not another feminist rant

Not that Ryan Holiday is my favorite person in the world, but his book, Trust Me, I’m Lying has got me nodding my head and scoffing in agreement on every page. I posted last week about the drastic changes in the news industry, using “The Onion”‘s move to an online-only format as a prime example of the effect our Internet/blogging culture has had on the news. I also quoted Holiday on this post.

Well, Holiday, it’s your lucky day. I’m talking about you again.

I keep seeing angry Facebook statuses (stati?) by my female colleagues featuring a brief feminist rant and a link to a controversial, misogynistic blog post. First, it was Matt Forney’s “The Case Against Female Self-Esteem,” then yesterday it was Total Frat Move’s “Why Girls Should Not Cut Their Hair Short.”

I, of course, saw my friends share these ridiculous posts and, like hundreds of other people, clicked on them to read them. Of course I was livid. Of course I hate the authors’ guts. I know I’m not alone in these sentiments, because Forney’s post has over 2000 comments, and TFM’s has reached over 400 comments in just one week. And they all say (basically) the same thing.

I’m not going to waste time dissecting the posts. I just wanted to bring up the fact that the authors of these posts got exactly what they wanted. Clicks.

Ryan Holiday admitted to performing stunts like this in his media manipulator days as well. It’s a tactic he knows all too well. Make people hate you by doing something controversial, and everyone will talk about you. And, in the end, that’s what these blogs want. It doesn’t matter to them if a comment is negative or if it’s in agreement. A comment is a comment. A pageview is a pageview.

So, ladies…

I know you’re trying to get these douchebags the bad rep they deserve, but you’re actually doing them a solid. Ignore the idiocy, and, hopefully, it will go away.

Leave a Reply

